Spring Break Fail 2017

I’ve attempted to start a blog several times. By start, I mean that I’ll write 2-3 entries and then never log in to the thing again. I’m not sure why I’ve struggled with this so much as an adult. Back in the day, I could LiveJournal the pants off of any emotional teenager. As I’ve sat at home for the last four days, recovering first from minor foot surgery and then from an added sinus infection, I’ve decided that I’m going to give blogging another go.

I think my problem in the past was that my writing didn’t have any real sense of direction. I tend to be someone who is interested in many things all at the same time. My brain is on constant overload. Not necessarily the stressful, “I can’t remember where I put my glasses that are actually still on my head” overload, but the, “I have so many interests in so many things and there are only so many hours in the day and days in the week to fully experience all of my hobbies” overload.

To counteract this problem, I’ve decided that I’m going to try and categorize my posts with a different assigned category for each day of the week. Structure is essential to life for a Type A person like me, so why I haven’t thought of this in the past, I have no idea. Since this is the first day, I’ll let this post continue without a specified category. Life can’t all be shoved into one, neat and tidy box, so I guess I can allow days of “random posting.”

I feel like this has already been the biggest Spring Break fail ever. I planned my foot surgery, (simple removal of a Ganglion cyst from the outside of my right foot), with great care. Being a dance teacher, primarily a tap teacher, my income is dependent on my feet being in full working order. It’s difficult enough to get three-year-old children to cooperate when your body is fully functioning. It just so happened that I was able to schedule surgery on the very first day of Spring Break, which happens to be immediately followed this year by picture week at the studio. This means that for 17 whole days, it would not be necessary for me to be able to dance. Not only that, but our tax refund came in just in time to cover all out-of-pocket medical expenses. Perfect timing!

Although I’m only 30, I think I’ve already come to realize that in the human scope of perception, there is no such thing as perfect timing. For one, I believe in God’s timing and the problem with that is that most of the time, we humans are in the dark as to exactly what the “perfect timing” is. When something does or doesn’t happen, we can’t see the big picture and it means that we never think things happen or don’t happen when they should. It is also naive to get wrapped up in a moment when things seem to be falling into place, because that’s  when we are at our most vulnerable for the devil to sweep in and wreak havoc. Insert my Spring Break thus far.

I thought I had it all planned out and the only real thing I was worried about leading up to the day of surgery was any complications with anesthesia. First off, I’m one of  those crazy people that wants to be watching whenever something takes place. Like when I get a shot or have to have blood drawn; I want to watch the needle go in. With this surgery being an outpatient procedure, I wasn’t really sure why I needed to be put all the way under. I also know that I weigh very little and I am scared to death of being nauseous, so all the worst case scenarios were playing out in my head – none of which really had nothing to do with the surgery itself. I know, I’m an odd one.

Of course the surgery went fantastic, the anesthesiologist even let me have a lighter “dose” of anesthesia and I had no negative side effects. An hour after being released from the surgery center, I was hobbling on my crutches around Hobby Lobby with my mom trying to keep up, so I could pick up some new yarn for the latest afghan I’m crocheting. This is the kind of psycho that I am. That being said, and with my previously confessed constant mental overload, I tend to be someone that doesn’t slow down very often. When I do, it’s usually for a break from work such as Thanksgiving weekend, Christmas/New Years and of course, Spring Break. When I do finally let myself relax and enjoy time to myself, it’s like my immune system also decides it’s time for a vacation and I invariably get sick. This has been happening to me since I was young, so I don’t know why I didn’t anticipate it this time. So, I felt great for all of about 24 hours, until the sinus/flu symptoms kicked in.

Luckily, I do not have the flu but I am beyond ready to start enjoying some of my Spring Break! I haven’t even felt like taking the puppies to the dog park and the temperature has been so nice outside. After my latest doctor’s visit this morning, I’m now on a new antibiotic as well as over-the-counter allergy medication and a nasal spray. Tomorrow, I have my post-op appointment with the podiatrist, where I will hopefully be given a walking boot. I haven’t put any weight on my right foot in four days, and although I probably have the most awesome left calf and glute muscles by now, I’m tired of hopping all over the house. Not to mention, thanks to the crutches, I have bruised ribs and a spot on my hand has been rubbed raw.

I may feel like this Spring Break has failed me so far, but there are still six whole days left to enjoy some time with my hubby and puppies. I must hobble on!

 

 

Leave a Reply

