A Haircut & A Surprise

Ruthie is scheduled for her spay appointment tomorrow but I decided that I wanted to go ahead and get her a haircut before the surgery. I figured she’ll be wearing the cone of shame for several days and I just didn’t think I can handle her long hair for another 10-14 days. I think she’s cute as all get-out with longer fur, but it feels really oily. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m terrible at giving doggie baths or because her fur is just too long. Either way, I decided to go ahead and get it cut. It’s the surprise that I didn’t see coming…

At 3:30 this morning, the dogs woke me up while playing. I thought that since they were fully awake, it would probably be safe to take them for a potty break. Even though it was early, and I was tired, and it was fah-reeezing outside. Everything was going fine until, at the last minute, Ruthie decided she needed to go poopie. Now, it was definitely dark out and I wasn’t fully awake, but a person knows little white worms when they see them. Yep, Ruthie has tapeworms.

My first thought was, “Ahh! Maggots!” I know, I know, stupid thought, but it was really gross. I went back upstairs and immediately confined poor Ruthie to the crate. I didn’t want her bottom touching anything else that would need to be washed later. Then, I spent the next 30 minutes researching the different types of worms that dogs can contract. I decided that in my unprofessional opinion, she had tapeworms and the vet was able to confirm when I took Ruthie in for her grooming appointment. The worst part was that I had to make sure she went poopie again before I took her to the vet so that I could take a lovely sample with me. Luckily, the cure is a one-time dose of medication and it shouldn’t interfere at all with her spay tomorrow. One early morning down, four more to go!

Leave a Reply

