Welcome Home, Ruth!

Yesterday, we brought home our newest little ball of fur, Ruth! You can blame me all you want, but it’s really Blake’s fault that we suddenly became a family of four : )

The day began like any other normal day. We left our apartment around 1:30 p.m. and the plan was to run a few errands before heading to the studio where I was to teach a private lesson before ending the day with yummy fajitas at Lupe Tortilla.

While we were driving from one place to another, Blake made a comment about the picture of a doggie I had sent him last week that looked a lot like Scooter. I thought he was referring to the most recent picture, so I went online and sent the adoption agency an e-mail asking if that particular dog was still available for adoption. That’s when I realized the dog was actually located in Connecticut but would be available for transport to Texas if we decided to adopt. When I told Blake, he said, “No, what about that other dog that looked exactly like Scooter.” Well…I thought the dog I had just inquired about was the one that looked like Scooter. So, I started digging through old text messages to try and find the link and I couldn’t find it. That’s when we realized that I had shared the dog’s profile through Facebook, not text. Blake pulled up the profile and and I noticed that the dog, Ariel, was still available. I was shocked, because she was so cute and seemed so sweet, so I sent that agency a message through their website. After sending the message, I received a return message stating that they had an adoption center open on Saturdays until 6:00 p.m. off Weslayan. We decided that since my private lesson was to be finished at 5:00 p.m., we would have just enough time to run over to the adoption center and see if Ariel was still without a forever family.

As we were pulling up to the shopping center where the K-9 Angels adoption center is located, I was so excited! I just love puppies, and I had really convinced myself that a little sister was just what Scooter needed. When we walked in the front doors, I saw lots of adorable puppies ready for adoption. I scanned the room until I saw a crate with the name “Ariel” posted…and the crate was empty. I walked over to the desk set up near the back of the room, scared that she may have just been adopted and we were too late. As I was speaking to an employee, Ariel came walking from the back door where she had just been given a potty break! I immediately saw just how sweet and docile she was but was still trying not to get my hopes up. Especially because the woman was explaining to us that Ariel’s foster mom was very protective of her and they had already turned down one family who had applied for her adoption. They then led us into a private room and handed me a three-page application. Ariel immediately climbed up on the sofa next to Blake and I got started on the application. It was very thorough, and even stated that they would want to conduct a home visit. In my mind, we were not going home with a new puppy that night.

After I had finished filling out the application, I brought it back to the woman who told me that since we already have a dog, they are usually required to call the vet to make sure that we take Scooter for regular visits, immunizations and flea/tick prevention. At first, I was worried because it was after hours but then I realized that because Scooter is on a CareClub Plan with the vet and because we have his Comboguard auto-shipped to our apartment, I have proof of monthly payments on the bank account app on my phone. Luckily, she was thrilled to see this proof and before I knew it, she was on the phone to the foster parents. “We have a winner!” she said into the phone. I was shocked. As it turned out, the issue the fosters had with the previous applicants was that they would be leaving the dog alone for several hours at a time each day. When the employee saw that Blake and I work opposite schedules and the dog would only be alone for 3-4 hours each day, she decided we were the family for Ariel! Blake ran across the street to the ATM and I finished up the rest of the paperwork and we took our new little girl dog home!

So, you can blame me all you want, but if it weren’t for Blake, we wouldn’t have our Ruthie girl : )

K-9 Angels                                                           https://www.facebook.com/k9angelsrescue/                                                              Adoption Center: 5533 Weslayan, Houston, TX 77005                                             Saturdays: 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.                                                                                 Sundays: 11:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Leave a Reply

